“In each moment the fire rages, it will burn away a hundred veils and carry you a thousand steps toward your goal.” – Rumi

A vacation to the beach between surgery and radiation was the perfect escape but made it even harder to come home and face the next hurdle.  Conventional treatment for breast cancer typically involves surgery, radiation and/or chemo – sometimes called “slash and burn.” I have been assured by many people that radiation treatments are no big deal. Side effects are mild – usually fatigue and sunburn-like symptoms but I can’t get past the “slash and burn” imagery! And then I was reminded,

                 “Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have called you by name, you are mine. When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and through the rivers, they shall not overwhelm you; when you walk through fire you shall not be burned, and the flame shall not consume you…” – Isaiah 43

Today was supposed to be a practice run for radiation but ended up being my first treatment too!  I was grateful for the reassurance from Isaiah and channeled beach memories while the machines and staff did their thing.  It was over in less than 20 minutes – 19 treatments to go… 🙂

I woke this morning feeling unsettled and did the only thing I know to relieve stress and beat fatigue – I ran!  It was brisk outside but I had this really awesome moment when I spied a fox and he spied me and we stared at each other.  He’d take a few steps and I’d do the same and we just watched each other.  It was super cool… and then I realized there was a dog in the distance behind me and the fox was really keeping an eye on it!  I had to laugh – it was like nature’s version of the old bar joke, “I’m not checking you out – I’m looking at the clock over your head.”  Have I mentioned how much I think God must get a kick out of watching human antics?

I go back to work tomorrow – looking forward to getting busy again, doing what I love – just praying for endurance!  Happy New Year!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 02:56:14

    Amen sister! You’re doing great!! love u xxoo

    Reply

  2. ashley
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 04:26:42

    Oooh, foxes. :o.) Great medicine!

    Reply

  3. Cherie Lynn Hagan
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 06:35:38

    You are an inspiration. God be with you sweet friend!

    Reply

  4. teresa
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 18:57:44

    Love you blog and the sincerity, truth and lighteartedness in which it comes forth. You are a true gift! Eagles wings dear sweet one!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

