“Happiness is the spiritual experience of living every minute with love, grace, and gratitude.” – Denis Waitley

Last week I went for my first screening since the end of treatment and received a letter today that says, in part, “We are pleased to inform you that your recent screening showed no mammographic evidence of cancer.” !!!

I’m feeling surprised, relieved, thankful, giddy and weepy all at the same time! Mostly, I am grateful that just moments after diagnosis, it was as if God placed His hand on my back, replaced fear with acceptance and peace, and guided me gently through the journey.¬† It is true that healing is not the same as curing – that healing does, indeed, bring us “closer to our true self.”

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather Lightner
    Apr 11, 2012 @ 00:35:41

    How perfectly wonderful! I’m beyond pleased for you!

    Reply

  2. Stacey
    Apr 11, 2012 @ 02:13:36

    Excellent!!
    Prayers do get answered.

    Reply

  3. Cindy Holy
    Apr 11, 2012 @ 10:33:15

    Wonderful!!!!!

    Reply

  4. Rachel Yontz
    Apr 11, 2012 @ 11:43:21

    Gretchen:
    Just thinking I had not heard how you were doing for awhile. So grateful to hear your news. Thnk you for sharing. Hope you are feeling a little more like yourself! Love, Rachel

    Reply

  5. Tracy
    Apr 11, 2012 @ 15:08:21

    WOOOO HOOOO!

    Reply

  6. Stephanie Heflin
    Apr 11, 2012 @ 19:13:27

    Yahoo! Best news EVER! Congrats and I am so happy for you and your family. You are inspiration to us all!

    Reply

  7. jana
    Apr 12, 2012 @ 00:41:45

    Wahoo! That’s the best news, sweetheart. I am so happy for you. love, jana

    Reply

  8. Anastacia Nelson
    Apr 12, 2012 @ 23:49:20

    So Beautiful!

    Reply

  9. paty
    Apr 13, 2012 @ 01:46:02

    I am soooo happy for you. I understand what you are saying, your faith makes everything possible.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

